Welcome to MobiTog - The Original Mobile Photography Community!
THE Original Global Community for Mobile Photographers - Everywhere...

You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user. Sign up or
Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions.

My Procreate is Broken!!

Discussion in 'Questions, Suggestions & Issues' started by Starzee, 14 October 2018.

  1. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    I can’t insert a photo into Procreate on ANY of my devices. I was using it earlier, just fine. How could that happen so suddenly and across the board?
     
    RoseCat and JillyG like this.
  2. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    Now I can’t upload a photo here!!! It must be the new update. Instagram is working.....
     
    RoseCat and JillyG like this.
  3. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    I tried icolorama and the “blend” doesn’t work. I wonder if the problem is in photos. How does one contact Apple? This is truly cramping my style.
     
    RoseCat and JillyG like this.
  4. JillyG

    JillyG MobiLifer Mobi Veteran

    Joined:
    31 May 2011
    Messages:
    21,976
    Likes Received:
    52,354
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Real Name:
    Jilly
    Device:
    iPhone Xs Max
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    I found a problem between Procreate, Superimpose X and iColorama. And I presume it’s still there, but I had to find a different way of doing things. I think it’s the new update. I wanted to put an image on a green background so that I could combine two in iColorama. But when I took the cut out on a green background into iColorama from Superimpose X, the image had black swipes where the green should have been. In the end, I had to make the green background in iColorama and put the cut out on a blank background. A Procreate cutout was exactly the same. I’m still not sure if the problem is with those two or iColorama.
     
    ImageArt and RoseCat like this.
  5. RoseCat

    RoseCat MobiStaff Site Staff MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    1 August 2011
    Messages:
    54,531
    Likes Received:
    86,206
    Location:
    New York, NY, USA
    Real Name:
    Catherine
    Device:
    iPhone 7 Plus
    :fearscream::barf:
     
    ImageArt and JillyG like this.
  6. sinnerjohn

    sinnerjohn Smooth Bug Catcher

    Joined:
    16 November 2015
    Messages:
    8,312
    Likes Received:
    28,802
    Location:
    England
    Real Name:
    John
    Device:
    Samsung
    I've heard all these art type apps are being discontinued by apple................. :sneaky:

    :lmao:
     
    ImageArt, RoseCat and JillyG like this.
  7. JillyG

    JillyG MobiLifer Mobi Veteran

    Joined:
    31 May 2011
    Messages:
    21,976
    Likes Received:
    52,354
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Real Name:
    Jilly
    Device:
    iPhone Xs Max
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    :eek: You are very naughty John.:sneaky:
     
    RoseCat and sinnerjohn like this.
  8. sinnerjohn

    sinnerjohn Smooth Bug Catcher

    Joined:
    16 November 2015
    Messages:
    8,312
    Likes Received:
    28,802
    Location:
    England
    Real Name:
    John
    Device:
    Samsung
    someone has to be ;)
     
    RoseCat and JillyG like this.
  9. terse

    terse MobiLifer MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    17 October 2013
    Messages:
    7,864
    Likes Received:
    29,354
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA, USA
    Real Name:
    Ted
    Device:
    iPhone 7
    I haven't been using Procreate, but iColorama is blending and all just fine here (and I've done all the updates). What format are you using for the images you're having trouble with? JPG, PNG, HEIC, TIFF?
     
    JillyG and RoseCat like this.
  10. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    Without going into a long story, I was in contact with the Procreate folks and one of the forums. There were a few reports of problems with the new update messing things up but no solutions other than suggestions of the standard stuff, hard restart, delete and reinstall....

    Anyway I decided to restart again and it solved opening the photo in Procreate but I still couldn’t insert one. Another restart and all was resolved. I just tried iclorama and that is working, too. The Icolorama on my phone is still not working and the other iPad PROCREATE IS STILL NOT working but I haven’t restarted either. To answer terse , I mostly have jpgs and pgns, but all formats were not working.

    Thanks everybody (except sinnerjohn, I’m still deciding about that);)
     
    Last edited: 16 October 2018
  11. RoseCat

    RoseCat MobiStaff Site Staff MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    1 August 2011
    Messages:
    54,531
    Likes Received:
    86,206
    Location:
    New York, NY, USA
    Real Name:
    Catherine
    Device:
    iPhone 7 Plus
    LOL
     
    JillyG likes this.
  12. FundyBrian

    FundyBrian MobiStaff Site Staff MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    16 April 2013
    Messages:
    9,921
    Likes Received:
    29,770
    Location:
    Alma, New Brunswick, Canada
    Real Name:
    Brian Townsend
    Device:
    iPhone 8 Plus
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    I have been working a lot with Procreate lately and haven’t noticed any problems. Well, except for the things that changed, like gestures, in the update. After reviewing the details of the update and relearning a few things everything was OK again. Fingers crossed.
    I just went into Procreate again to be sure. Started by opening a photo, then inserted another photo, everything seems OK. So perhaps it isn’t specifically Procreate but something about the updating process that is causing the problem.
     
    Last edited: 20 November 2018
    ImageArt and Starzee like this.
  13. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    This problem was with the last update, or the one before that. It’s resolved now. But, after losing all my data with a delete and reload, Ive learned to backup my my most precious works as a Procreate file on my iCloud Drive.

    My current frustration is in trying to make brushes. There has to be a way to get them darker. I am working on stamp brushes, like flowers or leaves. When I stamp, they are so faint I can barely see them.
     
    ImageArt likes this.
  14. ImageArt

    ImageArt MobiLifer MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    5 November 2014
    Messages:
    8,364
    Likes Received:
    27,978
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Real Name:
    Ann
    Device:
    iPhone 7 Plus
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    Mine are really dark. It's all about the settings. Do you know that if you tap the stamp thumbnail you get a whole host of settings. I can't remember which ones but maybe putting the Stroke up to 100% may make difference.

    When you create the stamp is it totally black or white, no grey scales?
     
    JillyG likes this.
  15. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    Pretty much black and white, I’ve tweaked every adjustment there is and I’m not having any luck. The ones already installed work great. Some I’ve bought work great, but the ones I make aren’t showing up very well.
     
    FundyBrian and JillyG like this.
  16. JillyG

    JillyG MobiLifer Mobi Veteran

    Joined:
    31 May 2011
    Messages:
    21,976
    Likes Received:
    52,354
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Real Name:
    Jilly
    Device:
    iPhone Xs Max
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    The ones I imported aren’t solid either, so it’s not just you.:( I can’t see anyway, within Procreate, to make them any darker.
     
  17. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    That’s what I was thinking. It’s something prior to import. Or something in the images I’m using. More tutorials!
     
    JillyG likes this.
  18. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    This issue is plaguing me again. I can’t blend in Icolorama or import photos to Superimpose X or Procreate. Both my iPhone and iPad Pro (12inch) are effected. The iPad Pro (9 inch) is fine. ???????
     
    FundyBrian, RoseCat and JillyG like this.
  19. JillyG

    JillyG MobiLifer Mobi Veteran

    Joined:
    31 May 2011
    Messages:
    21,976
    Likes Received:
    52,354
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Real Name:
    Jilly
    Device:
    iPhone Xs Max
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    Agh! How annoying! Has the Read and Write button been turned off in Settings>iColorama or Settings>SuperimposeX?
     
    FundyBrian, Starzee and RoseCat like this.
  20. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    Nope. It is exactly the same as it was before. I can’t load photos into the Jixipix apps either. It only affects my iPhone and 12 inch iPad. The 9 inch iPad apps are fine. :angry:
     
    FundyBrian and JillyG like this.
  21. FundyBrian

    FundyBrian MobiStaff Site Staff MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    16 April 2013
    Messages:
    9,921
    Likes Received:
    29,770
    Location:
    Alma, New Brunswick, Canada
    Real Name:
    Brian Townsend
    Device:
    iPhone 8 Plus
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    I have been making a few brushes lately. I’ve had good success making seamless pattern brushes but when I tried to make a Stamp brush I had problems. I could tell there was something wrong with my brush settings but couldn’t find the problem. Then to found a stamp brush I have that works the way I want mine to work and duplicated it and just put my image file in place of the other and it worked just fine. Stamp brush dynamics are different from other brushes. They seem to be on full blast. No pressure sensitivity.
     
    RoseCat likes this.
  22. FundyBrian

    FundyBrian MobiStaff Site Staff MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    16 April 2013
    Messages:
    9,921
    Likes Received:
    29,770
    Location:
    Alma, New Brunswick, Canada
    Real Name:
    Brian Townsend
    Device:
    iPhone 8 Plus
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    Very strange and annoying.
     
  23. FundyBrian

    FundyBrian MobiStaff Site Staff MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    16 April 2013
    Messages:
    9,921
    Likes Received:
    29,770
    Location:
    Alma, New Brunswick, Canada
    Real Name:
    Brian Townsend
    Device:
    iPhone 8 Plus
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    I read something on the Procreate site about using Gimp to make seamless brushes. From the comments I read it sounds like Photoshop users have to work harder to make it work than with Gimp. I got Gimp a few weeks ago for another purpose so I was ripe to try it with brushes. I found the biggest thing that improvement by brushes was using the threshold control to ensure my file was pure black and white. It made them crisper even though I couldn’t see any difference in how the file looked on my screen.
     
    Starzee likes this.
  24. Starzee

    Starzee MobiLurver MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    3 July 2016
    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    16,251
    Location:
    Port Byron, NY
    Real Name:
    Star Greathouse
    Device:
    iPhone X
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    I’ll do some research. At first glance Gimp seems like a Photoshop/Affinity sort of thing. I hesitate to get more software for my iMac because I’m rarely on it.
     
    FundyBrian likes this.
  25. FundyBrian

    FundyBrian MobiStaff Site Staff MobiSupporter

    Joined:
    16 April 2013
    Messages:
    9,921
    Likes Received:
    29,770
    Location:
    Alma, New Brunswick, Canada
    Real Name:
    Brian Townsend
    Device:
    iPhone 8 Plus
    My 365:
    My MobiTog 365
    It’s s very simple method for making a sesmless texture. They called it one-click. Next time I’m on I’ll make not of where in Gimp it is found.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice