Tutorial - Blending AutoPainter App (or any App that Reduces Resolution) with Original Photo

elle

MobiAddict
Real Name
Ellen
I'm pretty new to iphoneography, but as I figure out how to do something that had me stumped, I like to write it down. I posted this tutorial on my blog.

http://www.ellifolks.com/blog/tutor...es-resolution-with-original-photo-tutorial-2/

Here it is, too:

After much frustration trying to figure out why I could not successfully blend a version of a photo that has been worked on in certain apps with the original photo, I found these apps actually reduce the size of the photo when they save it. Then when you try to blend the altered image with the original image, they can't be aligned. Although some of these apps create wonderful effects, their low resolutions decrease their usability.

One such app is AutoPainter. Here is an easy fix for the problem. In this tutorial, I will be using AutoPainter, but the process will work with any app that reduces the photo resolution when it saves the photo.

I will use this photo of Boston townhouses and make a painted version using AutoPainter.

wpid-Photo-Apr-25-2012-828-AM.jpg
Tutorial - Blending Autopainter Version with Original Photo

Supplies:

1. Apps:
  1. AutoPainter HD, AutoPainter, AutoPainter2, or AutoPainter 3
  2. PhotoSize (Danny Goodman)
  3. IResize
  4. Image Blender
2. IPAD or IPhone
3. Photo in Photos app Camera Roll
Directions

1. Open AutoPainter. Click on folder icon at bottom of screen. Select photo. Select artist style (or art style if using AutoPainter2). Here I have selected Benson.

wpid-Photo-May-28-2012-530-AM.jpg