ISO

rflaum

MobiStarter
Real Name
Randy Flaum
I'm very new to the smart phone cameras and wondering what dictates the ISO. Is it the phone itself or the camera app? Is there any way to change ISO? With all the technology that Nikon. Canon and others have done sending speeds up to 6400 with nice results I assume the phones can do this too. Can somebody fill me in on this? Thank you

rflaum said:
I'm very new to the smart phone cameras and wondering what dictates the ISO. Is it the phone itself or the camera app? Is there any way to change ISO? With all the technology that Nikon. Canon and others have done sending speeds up to 6400 with nice results I assume the phones can do this too. Can somebody fill me in on this? Thank you

It depends on what camera app you are using. Some camera apps are more technical than some. Slow Shutter gives you much more control than most camera apps I have. I am not sure of the options 4g gives but there are some pretty cool camera apps that will possibly give you what you need.

There is certainly no way to adjust ISO in the native Camera and, given the functionality of various camera apps it is quite likely they will handle ISO settings in a fundamentally different mode to the iPhone itself... :cool:

All iPhone models dictate the ISO settings internally, I haven't come across an app to control ISO manually yet (still looking!) but there is a useful commentary and iPhone comparison on this in this useful blog > Jawsnap's Blog

I purchased Mattebox which is quite good (from what I've found so far) - it tells you what ISO settings are being used and has some cool features. I'm still quite new to it so wouldn't 100% recommend it as a replacement to ProCamera but it's looking pretty damn good.