How do I ...?

Delta

Pretty poisonous...
MobiSupporter
Real Name
Delta
I am still learning to work with backgrounds ( not very well) and just downloaded :whistle: some backgrounds and textures talked about in the Absoulutely Free Backgrounds...Thread. So now I'm thinking - how do I used them? I have a couple of images that I would like to do on different textures/backgrounds. Is this different than pulling down a filter from ScratchCam or another app directly onto your pic or is this a Juxta process: add background-place the image and erase what you don't want or are there other techniques to using free-standing backgrounds and textures ?
eta: This feels different than " elements of surprise" I have no problem there..but something happens when creating a singular work...

How would you put an i-mage on this background ?
handstainedpaper13.jpg

That is quite an open ended question. :)

I would use something like ImageBlender, IrisPhotoSuite, FilterStorm or Superimpose depending on what I am trying to achieve.
It is actually fairly similar to what you would do for a Elements of Surprise challenge except you are not adding an element but rather applying the texture to an existing image. This can either be done as a foreground or a background blend using various blending modes. I would also suggest googling what each of the commonly used blending modes is intended for as this makes things much clearer.
I am also a newbie when it comes to this subject so I hope what I have learned can help you, even if it is just a little bit, and maybe we can get some feedback from the real professionals like RoseCat, Veevs, Venomator or another MobiPeep with a similar level of expertise!

Hi Delta and Robert, check out Cat's awesome tutorial. She used one of my textures (from the textures thread). Robert lists out good apps to use, also Juxtaposer.

http://theappwhisperer.com/2012/06/...with-catherine-restivo-creating-stunning-art/